News Highlights










































































5  Chapter Members Obtain SSUNAA Life Membership Status


Congratulations to:


Bernard D. Adams, James Brown,  Mary Allen Mack, Dr. Barbara Cornelius Thomas, and Marsha Brown Twiggs.

Chapter President Charles Young leads 2019 GYF Memorial Scholarship Weekend! (See Community Service)

Classmate Donnie L. Cochran Receives 2019 Regents' Hall of Fame Award!

Evans James Participates in 2019 SSUNAA Southern Region Conference





Chapter Recognized with Several SSUNAA Awards during 2020 Virtual Homecoming!


Mary Allen Mack is  Alumna of the Year for 2020-2021!

Roberson Family2020.jpg
Congratulations to Willie Roberson and the Roberson Family, National Family of the Year!
Dr. Luthenya C. Wright, Entrepreneur of the Year
James Brown, Medallion of Excellence Award Nominee
James Brown award.jpg
Clas of 2020!.jpg
Rise Up Anniversary ad.jpg

We Surpassed our Goal!

Together, the Class of 1976 raised $10, 565 for the 130 Campaign.

A Video Salute to Classmate Cmdr. Donnie L. Cochran:
"Glad to be Here"
Georgia Alumni Association  News
GAAHBSU Virtual Conf 2021.jpg

Shirley Brinson Marshall Chapter Queen 2020-2021

In October during Homecoming Festivities,  Shirley B. Marshall was crowned as our new queen to represent the chapter at alumni and homecoming affairs over the next year.                 Congratulations!

Class of '76 Chapter Pledges  $8,500 in Scholarships

Congratulations to:

2020-21 Awardees

Incoming Freshmen

Dianah Anderson

Amaya Bennett

Nigel Smith


Erianna S. Hammond

Emmanuela Martin


Graduating Seniors, Dec. 2020

Aaliyah Buckholts, Honor graduate, Mathematics Education

Recipient of the President's Second Mile Award                                            Briana  Byrne, Honor Graduate,             Forensic Science                                               

Gallery photos of our Class of 2020-21 Scholarship Awardees:

Dianah Anderson, Amaya Bennett, Nigel Smith,

 Erianna S. Hammond, Emmanuella Martin

2019-2020 Miss SSU Aaliyah Buckholts and Briana Byrne

2019 Memory

L to R President Ballard-Washington, Briana Byrne, Emmanuella Martin, and Scholarship  Chair Evans James pose together at the Scholarship Recognition Program of the SSU Foundation on August 24, 2019. 

Congratulations to all and best wishes for a successful Tiger year!

Scholarship Committee:

Classmates Evans James, chair, Audrey Conyers Rhodes, Charles Young, Mary Allen Mack, Richard Chisholm, Dr. Barbara Thomas, and Prof. Pat West

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

Current Officers

President-- Charles Young

Vice President--Evans James 

Secretary-- Audrey C. Rhodes

Corresponding Secretary-- Patricia Ann West

Treasurer-- Willie Roberson

Financial Secretary--Mary Allen Mack

Chaplain-- Rev. Thomas Williams

Former Queens Gallery
2018-2019 Mary Mack
2019-2020 Luthenya Wright

Donnie Cochran Inducted in Georgia's Alumni Hall of Fame 

Regent Don L. Waters with Donnie Cochran
(Photo credit USG Foundation)

The outstanding achievements of retired Commander Donnie L. Cochran, Class of 1976, were recognized by the University System of Georgia on Feb. 8 during a black-tie gala at the St. Regis Atlanta.

According to the USG website, the purpose of the award is to "recognize distinguished alumni and friends for outstanding achievements in their professional lives, personal integrity and stature, and dedicated service to a University System of Georgia institution."

View the video salute presented during the gala and also available online. Congratulations, Donnie! We appreciate all you do for our chapter and our Alma mater, Savannah State University.

A Seriously Impressive Class

We are proud of each of our classmates. Click on each picture here to discover a few outstanding stories and accomplishments. Contact us to share your news.

"The way we were..."